Map page 262 provincesLook at a map which delineates the provinces of Papua New Guinea and you can imagine how it was drawn. Straight lines go north to south, east to west, the curved lines follow the chains of highest mountains. Yet, by early 1970 when decisions were being made to retain the provincial administrative unit as an element in the government of PNG, there was little dissatisfaction with these groupings. In general the clans and tribes and language groups that make up this various country had come to some accommodation which recognised mutual support and interest.

And so it was that the four regions are subdivided into nineteen provinces each of which celebrates provincesan individual cultural identity.

By region, and moving roughly from west to east, the provinces are: Western, Gulf, Central, NCD (National Capital District, Port Moresby), Milne Bay, Oro, Southern Highlands, Enga, Western Highlands, Simbu, Eastern Highlands, Morobe, Madang, East Sepik, Sandaun, Manus, New Ireland, East New Britain, West New Britain and the North Solomons.